No-Ad Aloe After Sun Lotion review

Last week (or was it longer ago?) it was warm in Holland. The sun came out of hiding and shone strongly throughout a full week. Since I am very pale I used quite a lot of sunscreen during these days but when my parents dragged me to the beach, even my SPF50 couldn’t keep up in some places. It was unfortunate to get a little sunburn on my arms but I was able to test and hereby review my new No-Ad Aloe After Sun Lotion before taking it with me on holiday in a few weeks.

The bottle says the lotion has a ‘fresh coconut scent‘, however, this is NOT a coconut scent in my opinion. It smells like candy and sweet bubblegum. It is a lovely scent but thankfully it doesn’t linger for a long time. The consistency of the lotion is good, not too watery but not thick at all. the after sun lotion gets absorbed by the skin quickly. When I covered my arms in quite a thick layer, it took a minute to soak in, two minutes and my arms were completely dry again.

Most importantly is the effect of the lotion. An after sun product has to cool the skin, moisturize to make your dehydrated skin soft and supple again and for some people, proloning a tan is the main reason to use a special after sun product. The No-Ad Aloe After Sun Lotion is not specially made to prolong a tan, but is very moisturizing and cooling. A good moisturized skin automatically prolongs a tan. This is not what I look for in an after sun product so I won’t discuss this part further. After applying this lotion, my skin seemed to relive again after being a little burned by the sun. Instant cooling and leaving a soft and supple skin behind that didn’t sting when touched. I wasn’t badly burned(it barely showed up) but I could feel it and this lotion helped to take the burn out of my skin immediately. Needless to say I’m a fan of this lotion and I will be buying it again if it runs out before my holiday comes along.

For people who are interested in the ingredients, here’s the list:
Aqua, Bassica Napus (Canola) oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) seed oil, Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis leaf juice, Ascorbic Acid(Vitamin C), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (vitamin B6), Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) leaf oil, Actium Majus (Burdock) root extract, Calendula Officinalis flower extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) flower extract, Honey extract, Seaweed extract, Symphytum Officinale (Comfrey) leaf extract, Hydrastis Canadensis (Golden Seal) root extract, Tilia Cordata (Linden) flower extract, Zea Mays (Corn) oil, PEG-16 Macadamia Glyceride, Sorbitan Mono Oleate, Octyldodecanol, Silica, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Disodium EDTA, Carbomer, Sodium Propoxyhydroxypropyl Thiosulfate Silicia, Phenoxyethanol, Butyl & Isobutyl & Propyl & Ethyl & Methyl Parabens, Triethanolamine, Parfum, CI 42090, CI 19140.

A lot of plant and flower extracts to moisturize and cool the skin. There are a lot of parabens in this product so if you avoid parabens, stear clear from this one. I really wonder why they still use parabens as conservatives when there are much cheaper, easier and safer conservatives around. Anyway, back on topic, there is also perfume in this lotion and I know that it would be best to avoid perfume in after sun products, but in my opinion most of the scent of this lotion doesn’t come from the perfume, but from the plant and flower extracts. I am sensitive to perfume after being burned and I didn’t get any irritation so that’s a plus.

The instructions are also on the back:

As I’ve said, I will be buying it again even though the scent is quite strong in the beginning. It cooled my skin wonderfully and it gets absorbed by the skin much quicker than any other after sun lotions or gels I’ve tried so far. The No-Ad Aloe After Sun Lotion is available in drugstores and costs €4,99 for 100 ml / 3.4 oz.

Have you smelled this after sun lotion? What do you think of the smell? Do you have any recommandations for different after sun products?
Xx

About Christel

Hey there, My name is Christel and I've only just started this blog. I will be writing about beauty, entertainment and lifestyle. Xx View all posts by Christel

One response to “No-Ad Aloe After Sun Lotion review

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

