Citytrip Antwerp

Last tuesday, I went to Antwerp with my parents. I’ve been to the zoo in Antwerp before but for me, it was the first time shopping there. I have to say I love the city. The shops are great! They range from the big fashion stores like H&M, New Look, Forever 21 to high fashion stores like Gucci and the relatively unknown stores like Fish and Chips (more on that later), Vans and Fans (not a knock off, it’s actually a Gothic & Alternative store but they also have movie and game merchandise). I really LOVED the Kammenstraat, where all these more alternative and trendy shops were located. I really recommend a visit if you don’t know it!

This is going to be a picture heavy post, so get yourself a drink and settle in;)

image

image

There was a Freddy hanging from the wall above a bar somewhere. I thought it was very funny!
image

Antwerp has the most beautiful alleys! I love that!
image

Bla Bla Bla! Restaurant sign for some pasta house, I think. Brilliant!
image

This coat reminded me of The Power Rangers! It’s a ski jacket with build in goggles and breathing opening that will keep your face snug and warm. I believe it was a Ralph Lauren, or maybe Tommy Hilfigger?
image

image

Forever 21… Yes it was my first ever visit! I’ve never looked at the webshop either. I loved the feel and look of the store but the clothing wasn’t for me. The clothing in size Large was more of an average M/L so it wouldn’t fit me and the plus size department SUCKS! Really, how difficult is it to make the same shirt with about an inch or more of textile to make it bigger! Really! Designing a whole different line for the bigger ladies is more difficult than making the same pattern a little bit bigger! Geez… Anywho, most pictures are from the accesories department which looked so pretty and sparkly!

image

I really liked the table with these shoes that looked like they were on a cake stand! Out of the top came a beautiful chandelier.
image

I fell in love with these gorgeous deep red shoes. They had the same ones in black as well as a little different black ones. I wanted to take them all! Didn’t take any, though :(
image

image

image

image

Urban Outfitters was also quite nice although their clothing was a little too ‘hipster’ for me. My brother was expecting an urban store and came out very dissappointed, haha! Back to Fish and Chips, it really was my favourite store! I could’ve looked through all of the store for hours! They had a huge wall dedicated to graffiti and they sold a LOT of different colours and cans. It’s such a shame I don’t have any pictures because only the window itself was enough to look at with bright Blue Light colours and shoes and clothes all over the place. The clothing ranged from skate to a kind of fashion but somehow still peculiar, which is ho I like fashion best. When I go back, and I will go back, I’ll definetely pay them another, longer visit.

Antwerp is full of beautiful old buildings, and those I took a LOT of pictures from!:)
image

Ofcourse, a visit to Antwerp means a visit to the Stadsfeestzaal. A beautiful ornate room with some shops, a champagne bar and a small restaurant. Very posh!
image

image

image

image

The champagne bar.
image

image

image

image

At the entrance of the Stadsfeestzaal there is a nifty little vending machine for… Tadaaaa! Umbrella’s! That is SO cool! They should have these everywhere! Whenever it starts raining you just pop over to the vending machine and buy an umbrella!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

At the end of the day there are cardboard boxes everywhere on the streets. It was a sign that everyone should go back wherever they came from. I found it very funny. Here in Rotterdam, all the shops have a shared space where they take their trash to. In Antwerp, they put it out on the street and it will get taken care of by the sanitation department.
image

image

Starbuuuucks!:D
(I actually prefer a different coffee house, but it’s still Starbucks. Can’t resist!)
image

Since I’ve heard ALL DAY that we really needed to pay the Central Train Station a visit, we finally headed over. I took a lot of pictures there again. It looks really pretty and it spikes my wanderlust very badly!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

And ofcourse I’m not the only tourist taking pictures of everything! Haha!
image

image

There were about three floors to the train station and it looks very cool and deep!
image

image

These trashbins were very funny! They have four different categories. From paper, glass, plastic bottles and the rest.
image

image

There was a little fair in front of the train station with a very large ferris wheel. Ofcourse I had to take some pictures.
image

image

image

On the way back to the car we came across these signs that say what you can’t do. It’s more art that reality though;)
image

This picture below is the sign of some stripclub, however it reminded me of American Psycho and I thought that was very awesome so I had to take a picture of the sign!
image

image

All of these pictures have been made by me, using a Samsung Galaxy S2 mobile phone. It’s a shame most pictures came out a little blurry or woozy because if you look at them on the phone itself, the quality is impeccable! Maybe it’s the way I uploaded them? I’ll try and find out later!

So this was my visit to Antwerp. Hope you enjoyed the pictures;)

Anyway… Have you ever been to Antwerp / Antwerpen / Anvers?
If so, what do you think of the city? You live in the neighbourhood or is it really to far away?

Xx

About Christel

Hey there, My name is Christel and I've only just started this blog. I will be writing about beauty, entertainment and lifestyle. Xx View all posts by Christel

3 responses to “Citytrip Antwerp

  • deijsprinses

    I love the forever 21 vibe but I don’t like the clothes either, even though they for once fit me. I am petite so.. But the clothes are really garbage.

    Antwerp is pretty but you should visit Ghent ;)
    I’d be our guide! :D

    • Christel

      Yes they kind of are garbage, but then again, if you need something basic, you can’t complain about paying five bucks per shirt and it tearing or fading quickly.
      O I’d love to see Ghent as well! Gravensteen is supposed to be really pretty and you’d b an awesome guide!:D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

